observations on life

Missing

Missing (2005)

A voice I hear only in dreams
Beckoning, calling my name
Forgotten when I wake.

Sun on water
Sending code that I cannot decipher
As if I used to know this language
But have lost the key.

Leaving only a feeling that something was there
But now is gone

A figure visible in glimpses
From the corner of my eye
That disappears when I look straight on
A ghost, perhaps, or the lingering impression of an afterthought.

The smell of an undisturbed room
Drenched with a scent so familiar I am swamped by the weight of memory
Present for only a moment —
The lifespan of a particle of dust
Suspended in air and sunlight.

Leaving only a feeling that something was there
But now is gone

Standard

Leave a Reply

